Welcome to the new website of ESSAT

On behalf of the executive committee of the ESSAT, representing EDS, EAES, EFISDS and ESCP, I would like to welcome you to our new website!

We are proud to show you our new services with updated information, especially on joined educational activities. We also show you an actual overview of the members that represent ESSAT in the UEG committees and the ESSAT executive committee. We aim at increasing the participation of all members of our 4 surgical societies. Please let us know about your ideas and input by mailing us through the contact pages or through the representatives of your societies.

This new website was created with the aid of our new secretariat office hosted by Arjen Appel and Gisela Brandsma. We are very thankful to their excellent support in further developing ESSAT to a strong surgical representation within UEG.

Kind regards,

Richard van Hillegersberg, ESSAT-president


The main objective of the ESSAT is to provide a framework for cooperation and coordination of scientific and educational activities organized within the UEG by the participating surgical societies within the UEG.

  1. Guarantee a cooperation in favour of European surgery by promoting educational activities within the UEG for the benefit of public health.
  2. Promote and coordinate the exchange of ideas and results relating to the diagnosis, treatment, research and prevention of gastrointestinal diseases.

Surgical Societies

  • EAES (European Association for Endoscopic Surgery)
  • EDS (European Digestive Surgery)
  • EFISDS (International Society of Digestive Surgery – European Federation)
  • ESCP (European Society of Coloproctology)

Executive Committee

The ESSAT President (rotation: EFISDS, EDS ESCP, EAES) is the representative of the ESSAT in the UEG Council (representative of the surgical block). His/her tenure lasts for two years with the possibility of re-election for another two years.
Two delegates from each society who are responsible to engage their subsequent societies in terms of ESSAT activities and who are authorized in terms of decision making.
The representatives of the UEG Scientific, Education, Research and Public Affairs Committees.